Semi Homemade Shortcake

imageimageimageimageimageimageimageimageimage

Remember “Semi Homemade Cooking With Sandra Lee” on the Food Network? I was OBSESSED with this show. I think it had to do with the fact that every meal had a theme and tablescape. Or maybe, because Sandra Lee always made a coordinating cocktail. My dad eloquently referred to her as the booze lady (see here). Ahhh how Sandra loved a good party. Her method was to save time by making “semi homemade meals”. She mixed store-bought items with fresh-out-of-the-oven things. I liked her style. For me, I just like to “assemble” food. So when I say “semi homemade shortcake” I actually mean “I assembled this shortcake all by myself”. Same thing, right?

This strawberry shortcake was super easy and so tasty. Just thaw a Sara Lee frozen angel food cake or pound cake (I know, I know. It’s not actual shortcake). Then, chop it up into cubes and layer it into a jar with cool whip and fresh strawberries. I paired the dessert with gingham napkins and the cutest wooden spoons (I couldn’t help myself, they were in the dollar bin. Which means they were free…). This is a great little dessert for any summer get together!

Cake Stand: Target (mint in stores, white online) / Wooden Spoons: Michael’s / Napkins: old (similar here)

* all photos are mine, unless stated otherwise

Celebrate Everyday! Laura

Leave a Reply

